GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

2018 GTI SE: How would you mod with $5k? $10k? $15k?

Hoff

Car(s)
2018 GTI SE
Hey All! Let me know if this is a redundant question as I’m a newbie to the GTI modding world.

I have a 7.5 GTI SE automatic with 20k miles. It’s stock except for an off the shelf Cobb stage 1 tune and a K&N air filter - see? I said I was a newbie.

I’m trying to figure out a budget for the build and while I could swing $15k in upgrades over the next year I’m curious how an experienced tuner would spend their money. Also, I don’t have a garage or access to one so I will need a shop to do the upgrades.

Looks are important but I’m more concerned with performance. I know I want new wheels, tires, and coilovers.

If you were me, how would you spend $10k to $15k ranked in order of performance?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Attachments

• 2B014A70-B180-42FA-B1F3-791A8B156CC1.jpeg
    2B014A70-B180-42FA-B1F3-791A8B156CC1.jpeg
    4.5 MB · Views: 46

odessa.filez

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
2016 GSW 1.8tsi auto
What is your intended use?

If I had a budget for mods like that, I might look for an R or a TTS.

daujin_mk7

Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
2016 GTI DSG
Performance for the track or street? Daily or weekend warrior?

I've noticed in my area starting shop rates are $100+/hr and can eat up a budget quickly. At least something I considered. Then again, $10-15k is a very sizable modding budget.

GTI Jake

Autocross Champion
Tell us more about how you use the car & what your goals are.

In the meantime, this is a podcast style video where I dive into how & why I feel these top ten mods enhance this platform without going into brand bias.

odessa.filez

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
2016 GSW 1.8tsi auto
Seriously, if you're not going to ax or track, you're wasting money. And you're going to blow a considerable amount on labor.